Now Reading
Playing it safe in the digital realm

Playing it safe in the digital realm

The Covid-19 pandemic has accelerated digitalisation globally. It has now become an essential part of most industries, including logistics and maritime. While the transition has ensured greater efficiency, the use of sophisticated technology and intelligent devices has also made shipping companies vulnerable to cyber-attacks. A report from cybersecurity consultancy Naval Dome suggests that since February 2020 cyber-attacks on maritime vessels shot up by 400 percent. This dramatic surge has shocked and alerted businesses in the industry, prompting them to find effective solutions to tackle this. Cyber-star CEO, Ronen Meroz spoke to The Zone about cybersecurity concerns in the maritime sector and the significance of digital safety.

What is the biggest cybersecurity threat currently faced by the industry?

The nature of the supply chain is that it is tightly knit. In our experience, the biggest threat for a maritime or logistics company is to lose access to core operational and commercial systems, and to be “cut off” from the supply chain by business partners due to a cyber-attack.

What happens when a company is under a cyber-attack?

An unprepared maritime organisation that is under attack would have huge challenges shaking off the attack’s impact on its information and operating systems and as a result, on its critical business processes. In such a case, the compromised company may not be able to communicate with vessels, terminals, its alliance partners, customers, and vendors. A logistics company will lose the ability to plan its operations and communicate with its vendors and customers. Moreover, once its supply chain partners find out that the company has been compromised, they will most likely refuse to collaborate with it digitally until the problem is fully resolved. Such a scenario will aggravate the already-critical operational and commercial condition of a compromised company, leading it to suffer from major financial, and reputational losses almost overnight.

How does a cyber-attack occur?

Cyber security has three layers: Protection (mitigating the attacks), monitoring (identifying the attack/breach) and resilience/ readiness (how to manage and rebound from a cyber crisis after the protection has failed and a breach has occurred).

Hands down, most of the attention and budgets today are directed at prevention. Fewer companies perform adequate levels of monitoring, but almost no one fully embraces the concept of being resilient and ready, i.e. establishing a tangible and realistic plan to manage a severe cyber crisis not to mention rehearsing it.

What are the challenges on the road to overcoming cyber threats in the sector?

The number one challenge is to change the current mindset. While statistics show that companies have a very real chance of suffering a major attack, many executive teams are either overconfident or feel that they have ticked the box by having the IT or CISO “take care of it”. In reality, however, this mindset is failing companies one after the other.

See Also
Omar-Khoory

How does Cyberstar make maritime companies resilient?

Our services focus on programmes that elevate a company’s cybersecurity capabilities, gaps and resilience levels. Meaning, we can very efficiently evaluate current capabilities, and develop the necessary plans, processes, and practical cyber-drills to start building the company’s ability to withstand a cyber-attack and continue operating under such circumstances even without its core systems.

With the rapid increase in digitalisation, maritime companies will be more prone to cyber-attacks, how can this be avoided?

Cybersecurity should be a priority for every organisation. Organisations need to understand the risks and have the necessary solutions and controls. Cybersecurity professionals – either in-house or 3rd party must be brought in to perform cybersecurity jobs. Additionally, companies must invest in at least one cybersecurity drill for the management team. The ROI of such exercise in spreading awareness, exposing the capabilities and gaps and building “muscle memory” towards such an event is extremely high.

we must shift the focus from preventing to prevailing, and the mindset from being reactive to being proactive, while investing in proportional budgets and paying attention to monitoring and resilience.

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
0
Happy
0
Not Sure
0
Sad
0

© 2020 The Zone - a publication by Jebel Ali Free Zone. All Rights Reserved.

Managed by Conceptualize

Other languages

The Zone Magazine by Jafza tailors your language preference based on a number of factors. The list of languages above uses Google Translates automated translation to display content.

اقرأها الآن
الأمان في العالم الرقمي

الأمان في العالم الرقمي

أدت جائحة كـوفـيـد-19 إلــى تسريع وتيرة الــتــحــول الــرقــمــي عـلـى مـسـتـوى الـعـالـم وأصبحتالرقمنةمكوًناأساسًيافيمعظم القطاعات بما في ذلك قطاع الشحن البحري والـخـدمـات اللوجستية. ورغـــم أن التحول الرقمي يسهم فـي رفــع الـكـفـاءة، إلا أن استخدام التقنيات المتطورة والأجهزة الذكية جـعـل شــركــات الـشـحـن الـبـحـري أكـثـر عرضة للهجمات السيبرانية. ويشير تقرير صادر عن شركة «نيفل دوم» الاستشارية للأمن الـسـيـبـرانـي، إلــى ارتــقــاع نسبة الهجمات الإلـكـتـرونـيـة على السفن البحرية بنسبة %400 منذ فبراير 2020. وقـد دقـت هذه الــزيــادة الهائلة فـي عــدد الهجمات جرس الإنذار لدى الشركات في القطاع البحري، ما دفعها إلى البحث عن حلول فاعلة لمواجهة هذه الهجمات

وفي هذا اللقاء، يتحدث السيد رونين ميروز، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة «سيبرستار»، إلى «ذا ذون» حول مخاوف الأمـن السيبراني فـــي الــقــطــاع الــبــحــري وأهــمــيــة الـسـلامـة الرقمية.

ما أكبر تهديد يواجه القطاع البحري حالًيا فيما يتعلق بالأمن السيبراني؟

تتسم طبيعة سلسلة الـتـوريـد بترابطها الُمحكم،ومنواقعخبرتنا،فإنأكبرتهديد قـد يـواجـه شـركـة بحرية أو شـركـة خدمات لوجستية يتمثل في فقدان الوصول إلى الأنظمة التشغيلية والتجارية الأساسية، »و انـقـطـاع الاتــصــال» بين شـركـاء الأعـمـال وسلسلة التوريد بسبب هجوم إلكتروني

مــاذا يحدث عندما تتعرض شركة لهجوم إلكتروني؟

أي مؤسسة بحرية تتعرض لهجوم وهي غير مستعدة، تواجه تحديات هائلة للتخلص من آثـار هـذا الهجوم على معلوماتها وأنظمة تشغيلها وبالتالي على عملياتها التجارية. وفيمثلهذهالحالة،قدلاتتمكنالشركة الـتـي تتعرض لـلاخـتـراق مـن الـتـواصـل مع السفن أو محطات الـحـاويـات أو شركائها أوالعملاء والموردين، بينما ستفقد شركة الخدمات اللوجستية القدرة على التخطيط لـعـمـلـيـاتـهـا أو الـــتـــواصـــل مـــع الــمــورديــن والـعـمـلاء. عـــلاوة على ذلـــك، فبمجرد أن يكتشف شركاء سلسلة التوريد أن الشركة تعرضت للاختراق، فمن المرجح أن يرفضوا التعاون معها إلكترونًيا حتى يتم القضاء علىالمشكلةتماًما.وسـيـؤديمثلهذا السيناريو إلى زيادة سوء الوضع التشغيلي والتجاري لشركة معرضة للخطر بالفعل، ما يؤدي إلى تكبدها خسائر مالية وخسارة في السمعة بين عشية وضحاها.

كيف يحدث الهجوم السيبراني؟

يتكون الأمن السيبراني من ثلاث طبقات: الحماية (التخفيف من الهجمات)، والمراقبة (تحديد الهجوم/الاختراق)، والمرونة/الجاهزية (كيفية إدارة الأزمــة الإلكترونية والنهوض مجدًدا بعد فشل الحماية وحدوث الاختراق)

ينصب تركيز معظم الشركات اليوم على بند الحماية ويتم توجيه الميزانيات نحو هذا الـهـدف، وهـنـاك عــدد قليل مـن الشركات لديها مستويات كافية من المراقبة، ولكن لا تــوجــد شــركــات تـقـريـًبـا تتبنى مفهوم المرونة والجاهزية بشكل كامل، بما يتضمنه ذلــك مـن تطوير خطة ملموسة وواقعية لإدارة أزمـة إلكترونية كبرى وإجـراء تمرينات للاستعداد لذلك.

ما العقبات التي تواجه القطاع البحري في سعيه لمواجهة التهديدات الإلكترونية؟

يتمثل الـتـحـدي الأول فـي تغيير العقلية الـحـالـيـة، فبينما تـؤكـد الإحـــصـــاءات وجــود احتمالات قوية لتعرض الشركات لهجوم كبير، فإن العديد من فرق الإدارة إما تكون لديها ثقة مفرطة أو تشعر أنها في مأمن من الهجمات حيث تفترض أن إدارة تقنية المعلومات أو تقنيات «سيسكو» ستتولى التعامل معها. وفي واقع الأمر، فإن مثل هذه العقليات تتسبب في فشل الشركات الواحدة تلو الأخرى.

كيف تساعد «سيبرستار» الشركات البحرية على أن تكون أكثر مرونة؟

See Also
Omar-Khoory

تركز خدماتنا على البرامج التي تعزز قدرات الأمن السيبراني للشركة وترفع مستويات المرونة ومعالجة الثغرات، حيث نعمل على تقييم القدرات الحالية بكفاءة عالية، ومن ثـم تطوير الخطط والعمليات والتمارين الإلكترونية العملية اللازمة للبدء في بناء قدرات الشركة لمقاومة الهجوم الإلكتروني ومواصلة العمل أثناء تلك الظروف حتى بدون الأنظمة الأساسية.

الــزيــادة السريعة فـي الـتـحـول الرقمي ستجعل الــشــركــات الـبـحـريـة أكـثـر عرضة للهجمات الإلكترونية. كيف يمكنها تجنب ذلك؟

يجب أن يكون الأمن السيبراني أولوية لدى كل مؤسسة، فالمؤسسات بحاجة إلى فهم المخاطر وأن يكون لديها الحلول والضوابط اللازمة. ويتعين على خبراء الأمن السيبراني – سواء من موظفي الشركة أو من شركة خارجية – تنفيذ مهام الأمــن السيبراني. والأهـــم مـن ذلــك، يجب أن يتحول التركيز

من «المنع» إلى «الفوز»، وتغيير العقلية من «رد الفعل» إلى «الاستباقية»، إضافة إلـــى الاســتــثــمــار فـــي الأمــــن الـسـيـبـرانـي والاهتمام بالمراقبة والمرونة. فض ًلا عن ذلـك، يجب على الشركات الاستثمار في تمرين واحـد على الأقـل للأمن السيبراني لفريق الإدارة العليا، ويتمثل العائد المرتفع على الاستثمار لمثل هذا التمرين في نشر الـوعـي والـتـعـرف إلــى الإمـكـانـات وكشف الفجوات وبناء «الذاكرة التلقائية» تجاه مثل هذه الحوادث.

أخبرنا برأيك?
حزين
0
سعيد
0
غير متأكد
0
مبتهج
0
حقوق النشر 2020 ، ذا زون - مجلة صادرة عن المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي ، دبي