Issue 60: Food & Beverage

Strengthening supply chain resilience in food security is a strategic goal

Food security is an area of concern now more than ever, as recent challenges have shifted the focus of countries to availability, access, stability and utilisation of their internal food systems. Strengthening the UAE’s resilience in food security has always been a key strategic goal for Jafza, and our recent experience with the pandemic and the lockdown has positioned us better to tackle the challenges head-on.

In 2019, Jafza recorded a total trade growth of 24% in the food and agricultural segment versus 2018 and an increase of 7% in its customer base, reinforcing its status as a preferred destination for the food and agriculture businesses.

With a dedicated space of 1.57 million sqm for its Food and Agriculture cluster, Jafza is home to over 550 companies from the sector, representing more than 70 countries, and employing over 6,000 people. Over 38% of these countries belong to the Middle East with other major chunks lying in Asia, Europe and Africa. Over the years, at DP World, we have provisioned for the food and agricultural supply chain security with an out of the box approach by investing in new technologies, green initiatives and STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) streams to further facilitate the uninterrupted flow of trade and distribution while maintaining the continuity of food supply to the UAE and the region.

Looking back, we believe these investments made us future-ready. When presented with the challenges of Covid-19 earlier this year, we were able to ensure business continuity and support our customers with incentives to build their confidence with our advanced logistics digital platforms that enabled them to work from where they were.

Despite the global pandemic, Dubai’s external food trade volumes reached nine million tonnes, valued at AED32 billion, while food imports were worth AED22 billion, clearly demonstrating the effectiveness of strategies adopted under the UAE’s Food Security Policy.

In line with the UAE Sustainable Agriculture System, approved by the Federal Cabinet in June, DP World has further streamlined supply chain flows across its multimodal connectivity, reinforcing Dubai’s long-term commitment to maintain the growth and development of regional trade. Thanks to Jafza’s strategic location near Jebel Ali Port, we offer connectivity to over 3.5 billion consumers.

Our new Smart Service initiatives, accessible online to customers, such as ‘E-Delivery Order’ introduced by Dubai Trade, allow supply chain stakeholders to handle their complex import processes easily. ZADI is another innovative unified food import platform launched to facilitate imports and the re-export of food shipments through Dubai’s ports.

The UAE Sustainable Agriculture System is aimed at increasing self-sufficiency in crops, increasing returns and investments in the sector. It has opened new opportunities for growth and expansion of all F&B companies in Jafza and other DP World Parks and Zones.

Together, Jafza and our partner companies play a pivotal role in this greater cause for food security that touches all humanity.

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
0
Happy
0
Not Sure
0
Sad
0

© 2020 The Zone - a publication by Jebel Ali Free Zone. All Rights Reserved.

Managed by Conceptualize

Other languages

The Zone Magazine by Jafza tailors your language preference based on a number of factors. The list of languages above uses Google Translates automated translation to display content.

العدد 60 – الأغذية والمشروبات

تعزيز مرونة سلسلة الإمداد في منظومة الأمن الغذائي أحد أهدافنا الاستراتيجية

أصبح الأمن الغذائي أحد القضايا التي تثير قلق العالم الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى، فقد أسهمت التحدياا الأخيرة في تحويل اهتمام الدول للتركيز بشكل أكبر على توافر أنظمتها الغذائية الداخلية وتسهيل الوصول إليها واستقرارها، إضافة إلى استخدامها الاستخدام الأمثل. ولطالما كان تعزيز مرونة دولة الإماراا العربية المتحدة في منظومة الأمن الغذائي أحد أهدافنا الاستراتيجية في جافزا. وقد عززا تجربتنا الأخيرة في التعامل مع الجائحة وخلال فترة الإغلاق من قدراتنا على مواجهة التحدياا بشكل مباشر.

في عام 2019، سجلت جافزا نموًا إجماليًا في التجارة بنسبة 24% في قطاع الأغذية والزراعة مقارنة بعام 2018، إضافة إلى زيادة في قاعدة عملائها بنسبة 7%؛ الأمر الذي رسخ مكانتها كوجهة مفضلة لشركات الأغذية والزراعة.

تضم جافزا قطاعًا متخصصًا في صناعة الأغذية والمنتجات الزراعية تبلغ مساحته الإجمالية 1.57 مليون متر مربع، تعمل فيه أكثر من 550 شركة من أكثر من 70 دولة. ويوظف هذا القطاع أكثر من 6,000 شخص. وينتمي 38% من هذه الشركات إلى منطقة الشرق الأوسط، تليها آسيا ثم أوروبا وإفريقيا.

على مر السنين، عملنا في موانئ دبي العالمية على ضمان أمن سلسلة التوريد الغذائية والزراعية من خلال تبني نهج مبتكر يتضمن الاستثمار في التقنيات الحديثة والمبادرات الخضراء وقطاعات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لضمان عدم توقف عمليات التجارة والتوزيع، مع الحفاظ على استمرارية الإمدادات الغذائية في دولة الإمارات والمنطقة بشكل عام.

وبالنظر إلى الإنجازات التي تحققت، فإننا نعتقد أن تلك الاستثمارات جعلتنا مستعدين للمستقبل بشكل أفضل، فعندما واجهتنا تحديات جائحة كوفيد-19 مطلع هذا العام، تم ّكنا من ضمان استمرارية الأعمال، إضافة إلى تقديم حوافز لدعم عملائنا وتعزيز ثقتهم من خلال منصاتنا اللوجستية الرقمية المتطورة التي ساعدتهم على العمل عن بعد حيثما كانوا.

رغم الجائحة العالمية، بلغ حجم تجارة المواد الغذائية الخارجية لإمارة دبي تسعة ملايين طن، بقيمة إجمالية وصلت إلى 32 مليار درهم في حين بلغت واردات دبي الغذائية 22 مليار درهم. لأمر الذي يدل على فعالية الخطط الاستراتيجية المعتمدة في إطار الاستراتيجية الوطنية للأمن الغذائي في دولة الإمارات.

لدعم نظام الزراعة المستدامة في دولة الإمارات الذي اعتمده مجلس الوزراء في شهر يونيو الماضي، حرصت موانئ دبي العالمية على تبسيط تدفقات سلسلة الإمداد بالاستفادة من إمكاناتها للربط اللوجستي متعدد النطاقات، الأمر الذي عزز التزام دبي بتحقيق النمو التجاري الإقليمي على المدى البعيد. وبفضل موقع جافزا الاستراتيجي بالقرب من ميناء جبل علي، فإننا نسهم في تسهيل الوصول إلى أسواق تضم أكثر من 3.5 مليار مستهلك.

وتتيح خدماتنا الذكية الجديدة والتي يمكن الوصول إليها بسهولة عبر الإنترنت مثل خدمة «طلب التسليم الإلكتروني» التي توفرها بوابة دبي التجارية، للشركات العاملة في سلسلة التوريد بتنفيذ عمليات الاستيراد بكل سهولة ويسر، كما تهدف خدمة «زادي»، منصة استيراد المواد الغذائية الموحدة والمبتكرة، إلى تسهيل عمليات استيراد وإعادة تصدير شحنات المواد الغذائية عبر موانئ دبي.

يهدف نظام الزراعة المستدامة في دولة الإمارات إلى تعزيز الاكتفاء الذاتي من المنتجات الزراعية، وزيادة العائدات والاستثمارات في هذا القطاع. ويوفر هذا النظام فرصًا جديدة للنمو والتوسع لشركات الأغذية والمشروبات التي تعمل في جافزا وغيرها من المناطق الاقتصادية والحرة التابعة لموانئ دبي العالمية.

تلعب جافزا وشركائها دورًا محوريًا في مسألة الأمن الغذائي، وسنواصل العمل معًا لضمان لدعم هذه القضية التي تهم الإنسانية جمعاء.

أخبرنا برأيك?
حزين
0
سعيد
0
غير متأكد
0
مبتهج
0
حقوق النشر 2020 ، ذا زون - مجلة صادرة عن المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي ، دبي