Now Reading
LuLu Group International: Where the World Comes to Shop

LuLu Group International: Where the World Comes to Shop

Ashraf Ali, The Executive Director of Lulu Group International, the largest retailer in the MENA region, speaks to the Zone about rrowth and expansion, sustainability and environmental awareness, the Covid-19 Pandemic, and his passion for the group and its ambitions.

The Zone: What do you attribute the Lulu Group’ success to, and where is there an opportunity for growth?

Ashraf Ali: LuLu has been at the forefront of the retail industry since the 1990s, and today we have a global operation with 195 stores and sourcing operations in 22 countries. Apart from retail, we have ventured into multiple fields, such as hospitality, tourism, food sourcing and manufacturing.

We, at LuLu, have a vision to become the most preferred organisation in the retail and related sectors worldwide, and we can only achieve this through expanding our global presence and strengthening the pool of talented and diverse employees we have in order to service our multi-ethnic clientele. Continuous innovation, sustainability and excellence in customer service have been the main pillars of our growth.

Our vision for the future is to strengthen our presence in existing markets further and explore opportunities in the MENA region to grow the store count rapidly. Apart from the physical presence, online shopping is going to be our next focus area, where we see vast potential.

The Zone: Why are you passionate about what you do?

Ali: Right after my education in India,I joined my elder brother, our Group’s Chairman, Mr Yusuff Ali M. A. in 1981, and ever since then this is the only business I have been involved with. So, in a way, I have grown up with the organisation and the retail industry.

I was lucky to be in the right place at the right time when the UAE was on the cusp of phenomenal growth. Back then, we had a very lean team which gave me much-needed experience in almost all aspects of the business. Shopping and retail is a very exciting and dynamic sector, and we, as a growing organisation, are always on the lookout for ways to innovate each process, which I am personally passionate about. In short, new markets, new sectors and innovation geared towards serving more than 1.6 million shoppers a day is what keeps me going.

The Zone: The importance of sustainability and environmental awareness is unlikely to erode, particularly among younger consumers – health is the new wealth – so how will the Lulu Group continue to push back boundaries in this area of business?

Ali: Besides being well-known for our wide product range, we have been a proactive promoter of social initiatives, sustainability, health and wellness awareness, and environmental protection. We have been in partnership with both government entities and private charitable organisations for advocacies that benefit the welfare of the needy, not only in the Gulf region but across the world. CSR involvement is a core policy within the Group. It is our way of giving back to society. Whether it’s a campaign within the store premises or a third-party initiative, our hands are always wide open for a good cause. From energy-saving home appliances to advocating for education- themed campaigns, support for people of determination, cancer awareness, and so much more, whether a big or a small project, LuLu has always been a strategic partner of concerned groups.

When we launched our reusable shopping bags three years ago, we were totally over whelmed with the great response we had from our loyal customer base; which is why we have planned to launch another set of jute bags, which will appeal to the younger market with its new design and messaging. We have also introduced green checkout counters for shoppers’ to benefit from more convenient and faster transactions whenever they use reusable bags.

We make sure that our product range improves over time, depending on market demand, especially with regard to healthy foods. We have dedicated special sections in both our stores and e-commerce sites for healthy, diet-based, and free-from ranges for the convenience of our shoppers. This continues to progress with the expansion our hot food and deli categories, where we are infusing healthy ingredients into all-time favourites, such as immunity shots, grab and go sandwiches and salads, and even vegan selections.

The Zone: When did you first open a facility in Jafza, and why did you choose this location? What are the benefits?

Ali: We started operations in Jafza in 2015 to ensure faster and timely supply of goods to the UAE and overseas markets. The warehouse acts as a transit hub and imports from over 34 countries. Alongside the UAE market, we focus on exports to Oman, Bahrain, KSA, Kuwait and Egypt.

The Zone: What facilities do you have in Jafza, and how important are they to your operation?

Ali: The warehouse runs on a state-of-the- art WMS system, which is integrated into SAP for improved efficiency and maintaining accurate stock keeping. It handles all warehousing needs, covering imports/Ali: The warehouse runs on a state-of-the- art WMS system, which is integrated into SAP for improved efficiency and maintaining accurate stock keeping. It handles all warehousing needs, covering imports/storage/exports of Lulu’s fashion retail concept ‘REO’. Our team liaises continuously with the Dubai Customs and other local governing bodies to ensure our products meet all required standards and quality. With a dedicated staff of more than 120,our warehouse handles over 20,000 SKU’s spread over a range of categories, including textiles, electrical/electronics, household, stationery/party and seasonal, IT products, footwear, home furnishing, luggage/bags/ accessories, toys, and outdoor/garden/ sports.

“Serving more than 1.6 million shoppers a day is what keeps me going”

Ashraf Ali

The Zone: Do you have any plans to expand or update the facilities in Jafza? How do you see the Lulu Group evolving in Jafza over the next five years?

Ali: Obviously, with the kind of growth plan which we have chalked out we will surely have to expand our facilities in Jafza. As we add new stores, new markets, new procurement centres and boost our online shopping business, we forecast additional capacity requirement to the tune of 50% of the current size. We are also working extensively with our logistics partners to enhance and update our systems and infrastructure to meet the growing demands of the international marketplace.

The Zone: How do you maximise the potential of your workforce?

Ali: Business is not just about money, products or services. It’s all about people. I have always believed that the reason behind the LuLu Group’s success is its more than 55,000 employees. We empower our staff through continuous training, skill enhancement and diversifying business roles within the organisation for career advancement. Our staff is an integral part of our ecosystem, and we wouldn’t be enjoying the success we do without their passion and huge efforts in our daily operations. The biggest testimony to our human resource initiative is that our staff turnover ratio is less than 1%, the least in the Gulf region.

The Zone: The LuLu Group now has almost 200 hypermarkets in operation – why do you think the consumer has responded so positively to the company’s offer?

Ali: Over the years, the LuLu Group has been offering a brilliant combination of internationally sourced products, warm customer service, and the most competitive prices in the market – making us the ultimate one-stop-shop for lifestyle essentials.

These unique factors have brought us to this level of success, where our customers give us their utmost trust and loyalty in whatever we bring to the market, whether it’s something traditional or relevantly new. One of the main reasons is we take pride in showcasing the diverse and rich heritage of different countries through both food and non-food products, which makes us truly where the world comes to shop. Our brand identity is not only evident in our product offerings, but also in our multi-national staff members.

See Also

Continuous Innovation, Sustainability and Excellence in Customer Service Have Been the Main Pillars of Our Growth

The Zone: What challenges has the Covid-19 pandemic thrown up, and how have you tackled them?

Ali: As the pandemic hit the region, LuLu launched a 360-degree campaign, ‘LuLu, where the world comes to shop, SAFELY!’ In an effort to give assurance on food security and safe shopping, LuLu has enhanced its logo with an important element featuring the word ‘SAFELY’, in both English and Arabic, which has been the focal point of all key messages used in all marketing and communication platforms at LuLu – from in-store branding to digital media channels, above-the-line advertising, and CSR initiatives.

All stores across the region have a unified protocol for safety measures, such as social distancing practice, thermal check, and entry of the elderly and children, in line with the government mandates of each respective country. This includes ensuring 100% safe shopping through deep cleaning and sanitisation as per government standards.

To highlight the heroic efforts of the country’s essential workers from the healthcare industry, LuLu introduced priority checkout counters and trolleys for a faster and more convenient shopping experience.

And to ensure an uninterrupted food supply for the residents of The UAE, LuLu has arranged flights to keep its stores well- stocked with essential products at the most affordable prices.

Moreover, due to the limitations brought by the pandemic for physically held events, LuLu spearheaded innovative ways to promote its festivals, store openings, and promotions in a safe way through online events and virtual inaugurations.

In the time of Covid-19 and lockdown, LuLu has played a very crucial role and ensured uninterrupted supply of food and non-food products while maintaining the highest standards of hygiene, health and safety of both its customers and employees.

Our goal is to reach 200 stores in the next six months

The Zone: What are your targets and goals for the Group over the next year?

Ali: The Covid-19 pandemic has obviously brought about new thought processes and underlined a need to re-align our priorities, but one thing we are committed to, is our growth plan. Not a single project has been shelved. In fact, we have inaugurated 11 stores this year alone. Our goal is to reach 200 stores in the next six months. We have full faith and confidence in the visionary leadership of this great country. We will continue to explore more business opportunities in line with our expansion plans and growth activities across our current scope and other territories.

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
0
Happy
0
Not Sure
0
Sad
0

© 2020 The Zone - a publication by Jebel Ali Free Zone. All Rights Reserved.

Managed by Conceptualize

اقرأها الآن
مجموعة اللولو الدولية : حيث تيوافد العالم للتسوق

مجموعة اللولو الدولية : حيث تيوافد العالم للتسوق

في لقاء حصري أجرته مجلة «ذا زون» مع أشرف علي، المدير التنفيذي لمجموعة اللولو الدولية، أكبر مراكز البيع بالتجزئة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، تم مناقشة موضوعات النمو والتوسع، الاستدامة والوعي البيئي، جائحة كوفيد-19، وشغفه بمجموعة اللولو وطموحاتها.

ذا زون: إلى ماذا يمكن أن نعزو نجاح مجموعة اللولو، وأين تكمن فرص النمو؟

أشرف علي: تصدرت مجموعة اللولو قطاع

التجزئة منذ تسعينيات القرن الماضي، واليوم لدينا 195 مركز تجاري على مستوى العالم تنتشر عملياتهم في 22 دولة. كما أننا دخلنا في مجالات عديدة علاوة على قطاع التجزئة، مثل الضيافة والسياحة وتوريد الأغذية وتصنيعها.

لدينا في اللولو رؤية جلية أن نصبح الجهة الأكثر تفضي ًلا في قطاع التجزئة وما يرتبط به من صناعات في كافة أنحاء العالم. ولن يتأتى لنا ذلك إلا عبر التوسع ونشر حضورنا الدولي، إضافة إلى تنويع كادر العاملين لدينا من مختلف العناصر الموهوبة من أجل خدمة عملائنا من كافة الأعراق والثقافات، معتمدين في سبيل تحقيق ذلك النمو على الإبداع المستمر والاستدامة والتميز في خدمة العملاء.

وتتمثل رؤيتنا للمستقبل في ترسيخ حضورنا بالأسواق الحالية واستكشاف الفرص الواعدة بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا لزيادة عدد مراكزنا بوتيرة سريعة. وإلى جانب الحضور المادي، نولي التسوق الإلكتروني عناية كبيرة، إذ نرى فيه إمكانات هائلة واعدة.

ذا زون: لماذا تشعر بالحماس في عملك؟

أشرف علي: بعد الانتهاء من فترة تعليمي في الهند، انضممت في عام 1981 إلى أخي الأكبر، رئيس مجلس إدارة المجموعة، السيد يوسف علي؛ ومنذ ذلك الوقت هذا هو العمل الذي انهمك فيه دومًا. لذا ترعرعت، بطريقة أو بأخرى، مع هذه المجموعة ومع صناعة التجزئة.

لقد حالفني الحظ أن أكون في المكان المناسب وبالوقت المناسب، حينما كانت دولة الإمارات على أعتاب طفرة غير مسبوقة. حينها
كان لدينا فريق متخصص منحني كل ما أحتاجه من خبرات في كافة نواحي تلك التجارة. إن قطاع التسوق والتجزئة يتسم دومًا بالحيوية والإثارة، ما يتوافق مع فلسفة مجموعتنا الساعية على نحو مستمر في اتجاه إيجاد وسائل مبتكرة في كل خطوة تخطوها، هذا ما يمنحني الشعور بالحماس المتقد بصورة شخصية. باختصار، هذه الأسواق الجديدة والقطاعات الناشئة والرغبة في الإبداع في كل ما يتعلق بخدمة ما يزيد عن 1.6 مليار متسوق يوميًا هو ما يدفعني دائمًا للأمام.

ذا زون: من غير المحتمل أن تضمحل الأهمية التي اكتسبتها الاستدامة والوعي البيئي، خاصًة بين المتسوقين الشباب – حيث الصحة هي أغلى ما يمتلكون – لذا نتساءل كيف ستواصل مجموعة اللولو توسيع أعمالها في هذا المجال؟

أشرف علي: علاوة على ما ُيعرف عن التنوع الكبير لمنتجاتنا، إلا أننا اكتسبنا شهرة واسعة كداعمين مميزين ومروجين للمبادرات المجتمعية، والاستدامة، والوعي الصحي والبيئي، والحفاظ على البيئة. لذا نحافظ على إقامة شراكات مع الهيئات الحكومية والمنظمات الخيرية الخاصة المناصرة والداعمة لحقوق الفقراء، ليس في منطقة الخليج فحسب، بل في كافة أنحاء العالم، إذ يندرج الاضطلاع بالمسؤوليات المجتمعية في صميم السياسة المتبعة في المجموعة؛ فتلك هي وسيلتنا لرد الجميل للمجتمع الذي نعمل به. سواء كانت حملة داخل مركز من مراكزنا، أو مبادرة لطرف داعم آخر، تنبسط أيدينا بسخاء لمثل هذه الأهداف النبيلة. فمهما كانت المساهمة المطلوبة، سواء أجهزة كهربائية موفرة للطاقة، أو مؤازرة الحملات التعليمية، أو دعم أصحاب الهمم والتوعية بمرض السرطان، والكثير من المشروعات المجتمعية الأخرى كبرت أم صغرت، يظل اللولو دائمًا شريكًا استراتيجيًا في هذه الأهداف النبيلة.

عندما أطلقنا أكياس التسوق القابلة لإعادة الاستخدام منذ ثلاث سنوات، غمرتنا بشكل كبير ردة الفعل التي حظينا بها من عملائنا الأوفياء؛ لهذا السبب وضعنا نصب أعيننا إطلاق مجموعة جديدة من أكياس قماشية (الجوت) التي ستنال، بكل تأكيد، استحسان العملاء الأصغر سنًا بتصاميمها الخلابة ورسائلها المميزة. كما خصصنا ممرات خروج خضراء للمتسوقين ممن يستعملون الأكياس الصديقة للبيئة، تتميز بالسرعة والسهولة بهدف تشجيع المتسوقين على استعمال تلك الأكياس

نحرص دائمًا على تطوير تشكيلة منتجاتنا مع مرور الوقت وفقًا لمتطلبات السوق، خاصًة فيما يتعلق بالأغذية الصحية. فلقد خصصنا أقسام خاصة في كل مراكزنا ومواقعنا الإلكترونية للمنتجات الصحية، وأغراض الحفاظ على الوزن، والمنتجات الخالية من مواد معينة بما يناسب كافة الاتجاهات التي يتبناها المتسوقون. استمر هذا النهج في التطور بعد التوسع في فئات الأطعمة الحارة والوجبات الشهية، حيث ُندخل المكونات الصحية في الأطعمة المفضلة مثل مشروبات تقوية المناعة، وشطائر التحضير السريع والسلطة سابقة التجهيز، وحتى الأكلات النباتية.

ذا زون: متى كان افتتاح أول منشأة لكم في جافزا، ولماذا وقع اختياركم على هذا الموقع؟ ما هي المزايا التي عادت عليكم؟

أشرف علي: بدأت عملياتنا في جافزا عام 2015 من منطلق سعينا إلى توريد البضائع إلى دولة الإمارات والأسواق العالمية بصورة أسرع وفي مواعيد محددة. إذ يعمل المستودع هناك كمركز مؤقت للبضائع المستوردة مما يزيد عن 34 دولة. ونضع نصب أعيننا التصدير إلى دول مثل عمان والبحرين والمملكة السعودية والكويت ومصر، هذا بالطبع إلى جانب سوق دولة الإمارات.

ذا زون: ما هي المرافق التي لديكم في جافزا، وما أهميتها للعمل الذي تقومون به؟

أشرف علي: يعمل مستودعنا وفق نظام إدارة المستودعات WMS الذي تقدمه شركة ساب للبرمجيات، مما يسهم في مزيد من الكفاءة ولإدامة بيانات المخزون بأقصى درجات الدقة. حيث يعالج النظام البيانات المطلوبة للمستودع ويغطي كافة صادرات وواردات ومخزون علامة اللولو لبيع الملابس «REO». ومن أجل استيفاء كافة معايير الجودة في كل منتجاتنا، يتواصل فريق العمل لدينا بصورة مستمرة مع جمارك دبي ومع الأجهزة الحكومية الأخرى المعنية بهذا الشأن. ومع وجود أكثر من 120 موظف متخصص، يستطيع مستودع اللولو التعامل مع ما يزيد عن 20,000 وحدة حفظ مخزون تغطي طيف واسع من الفئات بما فيها المنسوجات، والأجهزة الكهربائية والإلكترونية،والأدواتالمنزلية،ومواد القرطاسية وأغراض الحفلات والمواسم، ومنتجات تقنية المعلومات، والأحذية، والأثاث المنزلي،والحقائبوالشنطوملحقاتها،ولعب الأطفال،وموادالأنشطةالخارجيةوالحدائق والرياضة.

خدمة ما يزيد عن 1.6 مليار متسوق يوميًا هو ما يدفعني”

“دائمًا للأمام

أشرف علي

ذا زون: هل وضعتم خطط لتوسعة أو تنمية مرافقكم في جافزا؟ وكيف ترى تطور مجموعة اللولو في جافزا عبر السنوات الخمس المقبلة؟

أشرف علي: بعد ما أعلناه من خطط النمو الطموحة، لا مجال للريبة في أن مرافقنا في جافزا ستنال قدر من التوسع. ومع كل إضافة نقوم بها، سواء في صورة مراكز تجارية جديدة، أو أسواق أخرى، أو مراكز مشتريات إضافية، أو توسعة لأعمالنا في التسوق الالكتروني عبرالإنترنت، نتوقعأنتد عونا الحاجة إلىزيادة سعة مرافقنا إلى ما يقارب 50% من السعة الحالية. كما نعملعنكثبمعشر كائنا فيقطاع اللوجستيات لتعزيز وتطوير أنظمتنا وبنيتنا التحتية بما يلبي الطلب المتزايد في السوق العالمي.

ذا زون: كيف تحصلون من موظفيكم على أفضل أداء؟

أشرف علي: لا يدور العمل فقط حول الأموال والمنتجات والخدمات، فبؤرة الأعمال هي الأشخاص. كنت دائم ًا ولا زلت على يقين أن وراء نجاح مجموعة اللولو هم أكثر من 55,000 موظف،نحرصد ومًاعلىتطويرقدراتهممن خلال التدريب المستمر، وصقل مهاراتهم، وإسناد العديد من الأدوار لهم في تدوير العمل داخلالمجموعة،مايساهمبكلتأكيدفيتطوير حياتهمالمهنية.إنمجموعةالعاملينلديناهم جزء لا يتجزأ من بيئة العمل، ولم نكن لنستمتع بهذا النجاح لولا جهودهم الجبارة وشغفهم ببذل المزيد في كل عملياتنا اليومية. أبلغ شاهد على نجاح مبادراتنا في مجال الموارد البشرية أننا نتمتع بنسبة تقل عن 1% في استبدال الموظفين، وهي الأقل في منطقة الخليج.

ذا زون: تمتلك مجموعة اللولو حوالي 200 هايبر نشط في الأسواق – لماذا في رأيك تجاوب المستهلكون مع ما تقدمه شركتكم من منتجات بطريقة إيجابية؟

أشرف علي: ظلت مجموعة اللولو، عبر السنين،فيحالةسعيدائمةنحوتقديمخليط متجانس من المنتجات العالمية وخدمة الزبائن بكلود،معتوفيركلذلكبسعرتنافسي مقبول في السوق؛ هذا ما يجعلنا المتجر الشامل والمفضل لكل أساسيات الحياة.

نعتمد في سبيل تحقيق ذلك النمو على الإبداع المستمر والاستدامة والتميز في خدمة العملاء

ذا زون: ما هي التداعيات التي ألقتها جائحة كوفيد-19 عليكم، وكيف تعاملتم معها؟

أشرف علي: مع توغل وانتشار الجائحة، أطلقت مجموعة اللولو حملتها الشاملة 360 درجة: «اللولو حيث يتوافد العالم للتسوق، بأمان!» في إطار مساعيها لمنح المتسوقين إحساس الأمان أثناء رحلة التسوق، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بمشترياتهم الغذائية. لقد أضافت مجموعةاللولوعنصرًاهامًالشعارهايبرزكلمة «بأمان»، بكلتا اللغتين، العربية والإنجليزية، كما شغلتهذهالكلمةالمكانالأكثروضوحًافي كل الرسائل الموجهة للجمهور بكافة منصات التواصل والتسوق التي تتواجد بها مجموعة اللولو، بداية من داخل مراكز اللولو نفسها، وحتى القنوات الإعلامية الرقمية، والإعلانات الموجهة لنطاق عريض من الجمهور، ومبادرات المسئولية المجتمعية.

وتتبع كل مراكزنا في المنطقة بروتوكول موحد في إجراءات السلامة، مثل الحفاظ على مسافة تباعد، وفحص درجة الحرارة، ودخول كبار السن والأطفال، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار الضوابط الحكومية المطبقة في كل دولة. يشمل ذلك أيضًا ضمان التسوق الآمن بنسبة 100% عبر التنظيف الكامل والتعقيم وفق المعايير الحكومية.

وحرصًا من مجموعة اللولو على تقدير الجهود البطولية التي يبذلها العاملون في مجال الرعاية الصحية بالدولة، تم استحداث ممرات خروج وعربات تسوق تمنح أولوية استخدامها لتلك الفئات للحصول على تجربة تسوق أسرع وأيسر. وبهدف التأكد من استمرار توريد الأطعمة للمقيمين بدولة الإمارات دون انقطاع، خصصت اللولو رحلات طيران خاصة للحفاظ على مخزون كا ٍف من المنتجات الجوهرية بأسعار في متناول الجميع.

فض ًلا عن هذا، وبسبب القيود المفروضة على التجمعات في المناسبات المادية منعًا لتفشي الجائحة، ابتكرت مجموعة اللولو وسائل شتى للترويج بأسلوب آمن للمهرجانات التي تعقدها، ولحفلات الافتتاح، والعروض الترويجية من خلال الاحتفالات الالكترونية في الانترنت وحفلات الافتتاح الافتراضية.

في زمن كوفيد-19 وأوقات الحظر اضطلعت مجموعة اللولو بدور بالغ الحيوية للتأكد من عدم توقف توريد المنتجات الغذائية وغير الغذائية، مع الحفاظ على أعلى معايير النظافة والصحة والسلامة لعملائها وموظفيها على حد سواء.

نستهدف الوصول إلى 220 مركز للتسوق في الشهور الستة القادمة

ذا زون: ما هي الأهداف والغايات التي تتمنى أن تحققها المجموعة على مدار العام المقبل؟

أشرف علي: لا شك أن جائحة كوفيد-19 قد أحدثت مسارات مغايرة في التفكير وأظهرت الحاجة لإعادة ترتيب أولوياتنا، بيد أن خطة النمو التي نعمل وفقها لا نزال ملتزمين بتحقيقها، ولم نؤجل تنفيذ أي من مشروعاتنا. في الواقع، لقد افتتحنا هذا العام 11 مركزًا جديدًا للتسوق، ونستهدف الوصول إلى 220 مركز للتسوق في الشهور الستة القادمة، ما يعكس إيماننا الراسخ والثقة غير محدودة التي نوليها للقيادة الرشيدة في هذا البلد العريق. سنواصل استكشاف مزيد من الفرص التجارية بما يتماشى مع خططنا للتوسع والانتشار في نطاقنا الحالي وفي مناطق أخرى لم تطأها أقدامنا بعد.

أخبرنا برأيك?
حزين
0
سعيد
0
غير متأكد
0
مبتهج
0
حقوق النشر 2020 ، ذا زون - مجلة صادرة عن المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي ، دبي