Now Reading
Jafza named top free zone for sustainability, non-fiscal incentives and industrial excellence

Jafza named top free zone for sustainability, non-fiscal incentives and industrial excellence

Jafza has secured top honours at the prestigious fDi Global Free Zones of the Year Awards 2023, picking up the ‘Excellence Award for Sustainability’ and the ‘Excellence Award for Non-Fiscal Incentives’ in the global category, as well as the title of ‘Industrial Champion’ in the Middle East.

The annual fDi Magazine awards, part of the Financial Times Group, are decided by a specialist editorial team along with a selected panel of experts. The awards are now in their 10th year and are widely considered among the most respected awards in the industry.

Abdulla Al Hashmi, Chief Operating Officer Parks & Zones, DP World GCC said, “As one of the world’s leading free zones and the first one to be established in the UAE all the way back in 1985, Jafza is committed to being at the forefront of the sector. Growing our free zone in a sustainable manner is a key priority for us, which is why we are delighted to be recognised for the initiatives we have implemented to decarbonise our free zone while building our industrial capacity.

“Receiving the global award for non-fiscal incentives validates the best-in-class value proposition that we offer through our manufacturing and logistics infrastructure, the world-class multimodal capabilities at Jebel Ali Port and the surrounding airports, and the suite of support services that we provide to our customers.

“By choosing Jafza, global businesses can not only take advantage of our one-of-a-kind ecosystem, but also operate in a setting that is better for the environment. Jafza is now home to more than 10,000 businesses, and we will continue to prioritise sustainable growth as we move forward.”

The fDi judges evaluated 69 free zones this year against a comprehensive range of criteria, including growth performance metrics, their strategies and success in attracting large tenants and SMEs, and development of infrastructure and decarbonisation initiatives.

fDi cited Jafza’s leading sustainability efforts and decarbonisation initiatives in announcing the ‘Excellence Award for Sustainability.’ As part of DP World’s overall sustainability strategy, the free zone is committed to supporting the transition to clean energy, which includes ambitious emission reduction targets of 28 per cent in carbon footprint by 2030 and net zero by 2050.

Jafza’s green energy projects include the Middle East’s largest rooftop solar installation, consisting of more than 158,000 solar panels, which saves 48,000 tons of emissions per year while meeting more than 30 per cent of Jafza’s annual electricity requirements. Furthermore, Jafza was among the first free zones in the region to install energy-efficient LED streetlights at a cost of AED 80 million and has invested AED 105 million in major retrofit projects to install solar water heaters, while also implementing methods to reduce water consumption.

See Also

Having been recognised as an “Industrial Champion” for its excellence, the free zone serves as a strategic hub for over 10,000 companies, including more than 100 Fortune 500 entities, while generating over AED 550 billion in trade value annually. The free zone offers integrated ecosystems for key industries including automotive and spare parts, logistics, food and agriculture, petrochemicals, healthcare and pharmaceuticals, as well as retail and e-commerce, among others. The availability of ready-to-move-in plots, purpose-built warehouses and end-to-end logistics solutions, which provide market access to more than 3.5 billion people, have made Jafza the leading trade and business hub in the Middle East.

These accolades reinforce Jafza’s unwavering commitment to sustainable practices and supporting the growth of Dubai’s industrial base. With its strategic location, world-class infrastructure, and robust ecosystem, Jafza continues to set benchmarks in the free zone industry.

DP World’s flagship free zone was recognised at fDi’s Global Free Zones of the Year Awards 2023 for going green while supporting industrial development

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
0
Happy
0
Not Sure
0
Sad
0

© 2023 The Zone - a publication by Jebel Ali Free Zone. All Rights Reserved.

Managed by Conceptualize

Other languages

The Zone Magazine by Jafza tailors your language preference based on a number of factors. The list of languages above uses Google Translates automated translation to display content.

اقرأها الآن
جافزا تفوز بمجموعة من الجوائز في الاستدامة والحوافز غير المالية وتحصد لقب “بطل الصناعة”

جافزا تفوز بمجموعة من الجوائز في الاستدامة والحوافز غير المالية وتحصد لقب “بطل الصناعة”

حصلت المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي (جافزا) على مجموعة من الجوائز، وذلك خلال حفل توزيع جوائز مجلة “إف دي آي” للمناطق الحرة العالمية المرموقة لعام 2023، التي تصدر عن صحيفة “فاينانشال تايمز”.

حازت (جافزا) على «جائزة التميز في الاستدامة» و «جائزة التميز في الحوافز غير المالية» على مستوى العالم، هذا إلى جانب حصولها على لقب «بطل الصناعة على مستوى الشرق الأوسط».

وتولى فريق التحرير في صحيفة “فايننشال تايمز” ولجنة من الحكام المستقلين، التقييم وفق مجموعة من المعايير. ما يعزز مكانة الجائزة، لتكون واحدة من أكثر الجوائز المرموقة في القطاع بدورتها العاشرة.

وفي هذا السياق قال عبدالله الهاشمي، المدير التنفيذي للعمليات، المجمّعات والمناطق الحرة في «دي بي ورلد، دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي»: «تلتزم جافزا باعتبارها من أبرز المناطق الحرة في العالم وأول منطقة حرة تأسست في دولة الإمارات عام 1985، كما تؤكد على مكانتها الرائدة في القطاع. ويعد نمو المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي وفقاً لمعايير الاستدامة، أحد أولوياتنا الرئيسة، لذلك يسعدنا أن يتم تقدير مجموعة الجهود والمبادرات التي تم تنفيذها وتبنيها خلال مسيرة بناء وتطوير قدرتنا الصناعية، لنسهم في خفض الانبعاثات الكربونية في المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي».

وأضاف الهاشمي: «يؤكد حصول جافزا على جائزة «التميز في الحوافز غير المالية» على القيمة الكبيرة التي نقدمها من خلال بنيتنا التحتية للتصنيع والخدمات اللوجستية، إلى جانب القدرات عالمية المستوى والربط متعدد الأنماط بين ميناء جبل علي والمطارات المحيطة به، إضافة إلى مجموعة خدمات الدعم التي نقدمها لعملائنا».

وأوضح أنه يمكن للشركات العالمية أن تستفيد من منظومة الأعمال الفريدة التي نقدمها، إضافة إلى إتاحة الفرصة للعمل في منطقة حرة تهتم بالحفاظ على البيئة وتحقيق الاستدامة. لقد أصبحت جافزا اليوم موطنًا لأكثر من 10,000 شركة، وسنواصل المضي قدماً وإعطاء الأولوية للنمو المستدام».

يعتمد حكام جوائز مجلة “إف دي آي” على تقييم المناطق الحرة المرشحة بناءً على مجموعة شاملة من المعايير، بما في ذلك مؤشرات أداء النمو، واستراتيجياتها ونجاحها في جذب المستأجرين الكبار والشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة، وتطوير البنية التحتية ومبادرات الحد من الانبعاثات الكربونية.

وثمنت “إف دي آي” جهود جافزا الرائدة في مجال الاستدامة ومبادرات الحد من الانبعاثات الكربونية، وذلك خلال إعلانها عن جائزة «التميز في مجال الاستدامة». حيث تلتزم المنطقة الحرة بدعم الانتقال إلى الطاقة الصديقة للبيئة، وذلك كجزء من استراتيجية الاستدامة الشاملة لـ «دي بي ورلد»، والتي تتضمن أهدافًا طموحة لخفض البصمة الكربونية بنسبة 28% بحلول العام 2030 وتحقيق صفر انبعاثات كربونية بحلول العام 2050.

See Also

وتشمل مشاريع الطاقة الصديقة للبيئة في جافزا، أكبر مشروع للطاقة الشمسية الموزعة على الأسطح في الشرق الأوسط، والذي يتكون من أكثر من 158 ألف لوح شمسي، ما يحد من 48 ألف طن من الانبعاثات الكربونية سنوياً، وينتج أكثر من 30% من احتياجات جافزا السنوية من الطاقة الكهربائية. كما كانت جافزا أيضًا واحدة من أوائل المناطق الحرة في المنطقة التي اعتمدت على مصابيح شبكة الطرق الموفرة للطاقة بتكلفة بلغت 80 مليون درهم إماراتي، وقامت باستثمار 105 مليون درهم إماراتي في مشاريع تحديث البنية التحتية والذي شمل تركيب سخانات المياه بالطاقة الشمسية واستخدام أساليب لتقليل استهلاك المياه.

إضافة إلى حصول المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي على لقب “بطل الصناعة”، تعد المنطقة الحرة مركز استراتيجي لأكثر من 10,000 شركة، منها 100 شركة مُدرجة على قائمة فورتشن 500، بقيمة تجارية بلغت 550 مليار درهم إماراتي سنويًا. وتوفر المنطقة الحرة منظومة عمل متكاملة للصناعات الرئيسة بما في ذلك السيارات وقطع الغيار والخدمات اللوجستية والأغذية والزراعة والبتروكيماويات والرعاية الصحية والدوائية وتجارة التجزئة والتجارة الإلكترونية، وغيرها. وأدى توافر قطع الأراضي الجاهزة للاستخدام والمستودعات المبنية لهذا الغرض والحلول اللوجستية الشاملة، والتي توفر الوصول لأسواق تضم أكثر من 3.5 مليار مستهلك، إلى تعزيز ريادة جافزا لتكون مركزاً تجارياً ولوجستيًا رائدًا في الشرق الأوسط.

وتعزز هذه الجوائز التزام جافزا بمعايير الاستدامة ودعم نمو وريادة دبي في المجال الصناعي. وبفضل موقعها الاستراتيجي وبنيتها التحتية عالمية المستوى ومنظومة أعمالها المتكاملة، تواصل جافزا وضع معايير جديدة في بناء وتأسيس المناطق الحرة.

أخبرنا برأيك?
حزين
0
سعيد
0
غير متأكد
0
مبتهج
0
حقوق النشر 2020 ، ذا زون - مجلة صادرة عن المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي ، دبي