Now Reading
His Highness Sheikh Mohammed visits Fish Farm LLC in Dubai’s JAFZA

His Highness Sheikh Mohammed visits Fish Farm LLC in Dubai’s JAFZA

Fish Farm LLC rears highly nutritious royal Sea Bream, Sea Bass and Salmon in the UAE, thus supporting the local aquaculture industry and reducing dependency on imported seafood.

First opening its doors for business in 2013, Fish Farm focuses on marine fish breeding and hatchery. It operates out of three dedicated facilities: a caged farming facility in Dibba, Al-Fujairah, a hatchery in Umm al-Quwain, and an inland farming facility in Jafza.

The inland facility at Jafza provides a closed containment system in which the fish breed in a controlled environment. This ensures that the nutritional value, quality and taste of the fish are the very best possible. And by recycling water at regular intervals, the risk of disease is practically eliminated, providing consumers with not only delicious seafood but also total peace of mind.

The Jafza facility, which has 34 tanks, includes four that are used solely for salmon rearing. The tanks, which welcomed 40,000 baby salmon in November 2017, are designed to mimic the salmon’s natural lifecycle: the fish are born in shallow, freshwater rivers, travel toward the coast as they mature, and finally jump into saltwater seas when they are fully grown.

Fish Farm invested in state-of-the-art technology to create artificial habitats for the salmon, from the freshwater ‘river’ tank to the saltwater ‘ocean’, controlling the temperate, tide, salinity and depth. In fact, it is the only salmon breeding system in the world with full environmental control.

His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, visited Fish Farm LLC in Dubai’s Jebel Ali as part of his effort to encourage domestic food, explaining: “Expanding domestic food production to achieve self-sufficiency is a strategic objective and one of the main pillars of the National Food Security Strategy.

“Food is a strategic commodity, and we look to young Emiratis to propose new ideas and projects to help further enhance food production. We have a clear strategy and sufficient resources to achieve our objectives. We are confident that we can generate practical solutions to achieve self-sufficiency.”

Sheikh Mohammed pointed out that the UAE’s ability to ensure a continuous flow of food supplies during the Covid-19 outbreak showed the resilience of national food security strategies, which made sure that none of its markets witnessed a shortage in food supply.

See Also

Fish Farm’s CEO, Bader bin Mubarak, briefed Sheikh Mohammed on the company’s strategy. He laid out its future expansion plans, principally in the area of cold-water fish, which he envisaged will reduce imports and secure sustainable supplies to local markets.

He also explained why Fish Farm is geographically poised to be one of the world leaders in the fisheries sector, with its superbly organised transportation delivering fish both domestically and internationally, including to merchants, after handling, sorting, storing, and packaging, while ensuring high quality of taste.

The Jafza facility, which has 34 tanks, includes four that are used solely for salmon rearing

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
3
Happy
1
Not Sure
0
Sad
0

© 2020 The Zone - a publication by Jebel Ali Free Zone. All Rights Reserved.

Managed by Conceptualize

اقرأها الآن
صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم في زيارة لمزرعة “فيش فارم” في جافزا

صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم في زيارة لمزرعة “فيش فارم” في جافزا

تستزرع شركة “فيش فارم” المحدودة في دولة الإمارات أنواع من الأسماك ذات القيمة الغذائية العالية مثل رويال سوبريم، وسيباس، والسلمون، داعمة بذلك صناعة الاستزراع المائي المحلية وتحد من اعتماد الدولة على الأسماك المستوردة.

فتحت “فيش فارم” أبوابها للعمل عام 2013، وتخصصت في استزراع الأسماك البحرية وتربيتها. وتضم الشركة ثلاث منشآت متخصصة، وهي: مزرعة أقفاص بحرية في دبا الفجيرة، ومفرخة بيض في أم القيوين، وأحواض أرضية داخلية في جافزا.

توفر الأحواض الأرضية نظام احتواء مغلق تتوالد فيه الأسماك تحت ظروف بيئية ُمسيطر عليها. يحقق ذلك القيمة الغذائية والجودة والطعم الطبيعي للأسماك في أفضل صورة ممكنة. ويساهم إعادة تدوير المياه في فترات منتظمة في تقليص احتمالات الإصابة بالأمراض إلى الصفر فعليًا، ما يمنح المستهلكين أسماكًا شهية وراحة بال كاملة.

تم تخصيصها فقط لتربية أسماك السلمون. وقد روعي عند تصميم الأحواض، التي احتضنت 40,000 من صغار السلمون في نوفمبر من عام 2017، أن تحاكي دورة الحياة الطبيعية لأسماك السلمون: تولد الأسماك في مياه الأنهار العذبة والضحلة، ثم تسبح نحو الساحل في نفس وقت نضوجها، وأخيرًا تقفز في مياه البحر المالحة عندما تنضج بالكامل.

من ناحية أخرى، تضخ فيش فارم استثمارات كبيرة في التقنيات الحديثة الموجهة نحو خلق بيئات صناعية يمكن لأسماك السلمون أن تعيش فيها، بدءًا من أحواض أنهار المياه العذبة حتى أحواض مياه المحيط المالحة، إضافة إلى التحكم في درجات الحرارة والمد ودرجة الملوحة والعمق. في الواقع هذا النظام المطبق في استزراع السلمون هو الوحيد في العالم الذي يتمتع بتحكم بيئي شامل.

أكد صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي “رعاه الله”، خلال زيارته لمزرعة «فيش فارم» المحدودة في جبل علي بإمارة دبي التي تأتي في إطار حرص سموه على تشجيع صناعة الطعام محليًاعلىأن“التوسعفيإنتاجالغذاء محليًاوصوًلاإلىمرحلةالاكتفاءالذاتي خيار استراتيجي وركيزة أساسية لمنظومة الأمن الغذائي للإمارات”.

وقال سموه: “الغذاء سلعة استراتيجية لهذا ننتظر من شبابنا المبدعين أفكار ًا ومشروعات تعين على تنميتها وضمان توافرها في جميع الأوقات، لدينا استراتيجية واضحة وإمكانات هائلة تكفي لتحقيق أهدافنا. كما أن ثقتنا كبيرة في قدرتنا على تقديم حلول عملية تعين على الوصول إلى الاكتفاء الذاتي من احتياجاتنا الغذائية”.

ون ّوه سمو الشيخ محمد بأن قدرة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة على تلبية احتياجات المجتمع واستمرار تدفق السلع الغذائية الأساسية في ظل الأوضاع الاستثنائية من جّراء انتشار فيروس كورونا، أظهرت قوة ومتانة استراتيجيات الأمن الغذائي الإماراتي والتي ضمنت ألا تشهد أسواق الإمارات أي نقص في الإمدادات الغذائية بالدولة.

See Also

وتعّرف سموه من بدر بن مبارك، المدير التنفيذي لشركة «فيش فارم» على استراتيجية العمل في المزرعة السمكية وخططها المستقبلية الرامية إلى التوسع في تربية أسماك المياه الباردة، وزيادة الإنتاج لتقليل الاعتماد على الاستيراد وتوفير كميات مستدامة من تلك الأسماك للسوق المحلية.

كما فسر سيادته لماذا تعد «فيش فارم» واحدة من رواد مجال استزراع الأسماك في العالم، وخاصة شبكة النقل الخاصة بها، والمنظمة تنظيمًا مبهرًا، بتوصيل الأسماك محليًا ودوليًا للتجار بعد أن يتم تداوله وفرزه وتخزينه وتعبئته بأساليب تضمن بقاء مذاقه بالغ التميز.

تضم منشأة جافزا 34 حوض تم تخصيص أربعة منها فقط لتربية أسماك السلمون

أخبرنا برأيك?
حزين
0
سعيد
0
غير متأكد
0
مبتهج
0
حقوق النشر 2020 ، ذا زون - مجلة صادرة عن المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي ، دبي