Now Reading
Healthier Products for a New Age

Healthier Products for a New Age

The Food Industry has not changed, adapted and innovated at such a pace since the invention of canned food around 200 years ago. These changes are being driven by rising Consumer Demand for healthier, more ethical and more sustainable products, which the Food Industry is being pressured to respond to with improved research, technology and ingredients.

Food Specialities Limited (FSL) is at the forefront of this trend, developing entirely new products such as plant-based meats, and dairy and eggs from nuts, pulses and beans, all designed to simulate their animal counterparts. These are entirely new food categories.

Meanwhile, India, Russia, the USA and China are investing heavily in lab grown meat – a concept which sounds like science-fiction today but which is only five years away from coming to market. Creativity within the food industry today is a mandate, not an option.

Creativity and Innovation

FSL has a diverse and ever-evolving portfolio, supplying food and beverage ingredient solutions to manufacturers; agro and dairy commodities to traders; and premium hospitality products to the HORECA industry. “Within the company’s ingredients business, we offer formulations that help customers to improve the nutritional and taste profile of their products, reduce manufacturing costs, and develop innovative products to grow their market share in new categories,” explains Dhruv Dhawan, Head of Innovation & Marketing.

“The Covid-19 pandemic has, of course, placed immense financial stress on the industry and individuals,” he continues, “resulting in the need for manufacturers to reduce costs and for consumers to be more cautious with their spending. As the mantra to ‘stay healthy and stay safe’ became a mainstream meme, a new wave of consumer demand for healthy and immunity boosting products was ushered in overnight.”

FSL has responded to this demand in ever more creative and innovative ways, focusing entirely on healthier solutions, immunity boosting products, and more efficient production methods across all food and beverage categories. Offering healthier solutions and cost-engineering has always been at the core of its business but this time the demands upon the company were much greater due to the financial squeeze the industry and consumers were experiencing. This is where some of its plant-based solutions really began to show the value they can add from a health and cost perspective.

Moreover, as consumers stock-piled in Q2 of 2020, the demand for products with longer shelf-life also came to the fore. FSL, of course, has been offering shelf-life extension solutions for decades. However, this time it had to push the boundary even further for juice, bakery, snack and dairy products.

Just for the Health of It

“Covid-19 has simply accelerated the demand for healthier products and cleaner labels,” says Dhruv, “but what has been interesting to see is the rise of the flexitarian diet trend (where consumers are reducing their consumption of animal products) and the corresponding spike in demand for plant-based meat alternatives in the region. This is likely to be attributed to the association that consumers are now making between diseases such as Bird Flu, Swine Flu, Mad Cow Disease, SARS and Covid-19, which originated from the meat industry in certain countries.

“Another interesting trend is the increasing preference for consumers to buy locally as opposed to imported products due to the greater trust consumers have in local supply chains during a pandemic.”

Healthier Products, Higher Nutritional Values

Creating healthy products goes hand-in-hand with reducing sugar content, a trend that is being driven not only by health-conscious consumers but also from the governments of the UAE, Saudi Arabia and, recently, Oman, which have imposed taxes on various food and beverage products which contain added sugar. Heart disease, obesity and diabetes are pressing issues in the GCC (with rates of 33%, 32% and 16% of the total population respectively) and these regulations have been a proactive step to improve the health of the local population.

FSL has been responding to this shift with a wide range of healthy and natural fruit sugar based solutions, which are much healthier for the body than processed sugar due to their lower glycaemic index (a number which dictates how much a food increases blood sugar levels). The company is also using fibres and proteins to replace the body and mouth feel that sugars provide, which reduce the net glycaemic index too, while improving its nutritional profile.

However, replacing sugar is not a simple solution and one that requires a multitude of functional ingredients to offer consumers the indulgence they seek while ensuring their health is not being compromised.

Dhruv takes up the story: “Navigating the new sugar regulations and developing no- added-sugar solutions in certain categories will be FSL’s greatest challenge for two key reasons: The first is due to the fact that the Arab and South-Asian consumer palate (which makes up approximately 95% of the GCC population), have a strong preference for sweet tasting profiles. Meanwhile, much of the blue-collar workforce in the region wants to consume sugary drinks for energy and are not so concerned with their sugar content. The second is due to the fact that sugar is not only used to sweeten a product but also to provide texture, structure, colour and shelf-life. Sugar browns baked goods and helps remove water. It lightly coats the tongue. It provides body and mouth feel to juices, and it helps keep ice creams soft.”

Reducing sugar is, therefore, a multipronged challenge, especially in products where consumers are used to it. Today’s consumers know what items made with sugar look, smell, feel and taste like. Products which use less sugar or sweeteners also need to feel, behave, taste, look and smell the same.

“We occasionally advise our customers who are looking to reduce the sugar content in their products to create a separate ‘healthier’ version, says Dhruv. “This allows for more flexibility to play with the formulation and creatively develop something that meets the sugar reduction goals without necessarily having to look and taste identical to the product with sugar.

“We are also helping our customers develop healthier products with sweet, but more sophisticated and interesting taste profiles which tantalize the taste buds beyond the satiation of sugar.”

See Also

Jafza – Constantly Innovating

FSL has been operating from Jafza since 1987 because of the 100% ownership that it allows and the business-friendly environment it facilitates. “As a free zone it enables us to trade in goods without having to pay VAT and duties on re-exports, which then have to be recouped

Dhruv Dhawan

“This greatly improves the speed at which we can do business and deliver products to customers. It also makes the process of moving goods from seaport to airport port (such as Dubai World Trade Central Airport) much simpler. The port facilities themselves are exceptionally efficient, with some of the fastest container offloading times in the world, which allow us to receive, process and deliver goods to a customer within a 24-hour window.

“Jafza also has its own regulations, independent from that of the rest of the country, which offer us many advantages in terms of business compliance, real estate rules and the speed at which we can process labour requirements such as work visas. Furthermore, Jafza is an internationally recognised and well reputed trading hub in the Middle East where many MNC’s and large regional businesses operate.

“In addition, Jafza provides FSL with a dedicated service manager to support the company with its business requirements. And most importantly, Jafza is also constantly innovating with its technologies, processes and facilities, which are truly world-class. It is the perfect business location for a company like FSL.”

Looking to the Future

Over the next five years, healthier solutions, clean-label and plant-based foods are going to be the key growth areas across the bakery, confectionery, beverage, dairy, snack, meat and flavour businesses. Health is going to be the main factor driving consumer purchasing, while reducing costs and improving profitability will be the key drivers for FSL’s manufacturing customers.

In terms of geographical growth, FSL is expanding into the North African and Nigerian markets, which are ripe with opportunity due to their large growing populations and relatively under-developed food and beverage market. “We can offer a wide variety of sophisticated solutions that have already been tried and tested in the GCC and have proven successful,” Dhruv concludes.

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
0
Happy
0
Not Sure
0
Sad
0

© 2020 The Zone - a publication by Jebel Ali Free Zone. All Rights Reserved.

Managed by Conceptualize

اقرأها الآن
منتجات صحية لعصر جديد

منتجات صحية لعصر جديد

لم تشهد صناعة الغذاء، منذ اختراع أول علبة غذاء قبل حوالي 200 عام، تحولات وتغيرات وابتكارات بمثل هذا المعدل الرهيب.

التغيرات يغذيها ارتفاع الطلب الاستهلاكي المتزايد على المنتجات الصحية الأكثر استدامة والأكثر اعتدا ًلا، ما يدفع صناعة الغذاء إلى محاولة التجاوب معها بتوجيه اهتمام أكبر نحو الأبحاث والتقنيات الحديثة والعناصر المكونة. تتبوأ شركة فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة موقع الصدارة في هذا المنحى بما تطوره من منتجات جديدة مثل اللحوم المصنعة محليًا والألبان والبيض من المكسرات والبقوليات والفول، والتي تحل محل مثيلاتها المستخرجة من الحيوانات وتمثل فئة غذائية جديدة تمامًا.

في ذات الوقت تستثمر دول مثل الهند وروسيا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والصين بكثافة في تصنيع اللحوم المستخرجة معمليًا – المفهوم الذي يندرج ضمن قصص الخيال العلمي حتى الآن، لكنه لا يبعد سوى خمس سنوات فقط قبل أن يدخل فعليًا في الأسواق. فالتنوع والإبداع في صناعة الغذاء اليوم أصبح ضرورة لا خيار.

الإبداع والقدرة على الابتكار

تتمتع شركة فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة بمحفظة منتجات متنوعة ودائمة التطور، تورد منها حلول المكونات المستخدمة في الأطعمة والمشروبات إلى جهات التصنيع، وتورد السلع الزراعية ومنتجات الألبان إلى التجار، وتوفر منتجات الضيافة المميزة لصناعة الفنادق والمطاعم وشركات توريد الأغذية. فسر ذلك دروف داوان، مدير قسم التسويق والابتكار قائ ًلا: «في أعمال الشركة المتعلقة بتصنيع المكونات، نوفر لعملائنا مستحضرات فعالة تحسن من القيمة الغذائية ومن طعم منتجاتهم، إضافة إلى تخفيض تكلفة التصنيع وتطوير منتجات مبتكرة تساهم في زيادة حصتهم السوقية فيما يستجد من فئات.»

وأضاف مستطردًا حديثه: «لقد أضافت جائحة فيروس كوفيد-19 بطبيعة الحال ضغوطًا مالية رهيبة على تلك الصناعة والعاملين بها، ما حدا بجهات التصنيع إلى الحد من التكاليف وبإتباع المستهلكين لأنماط تسوق أكثر حرصًا في الإنفاق. ومع انتشار المفهوم القائل «حافظ على صحتك وكن دومًا بخير» ظهرت بين ليلة وضحاها موجة من طلبات المستهلكين على منتجات تعزيز المناعة والحفاظ على الصحة.»

سايرت شركة فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة هذه الموجة من الطلبات بأسلوب يتسم بالإبداع والابتكار من خلال تبني الحلول الصحية، والتركيز على منتجات تعزيز المناعة، واتباع الأساليب الإنتاجية الأكثر فاعلية في كافة فئات الأغذية والمشروبات التي تنتجها. وقد ظل تقديم الحلول الصحية مقابل أسعار مقبولة دائمًا محور أعمالنا، لكن هذه المرة فاقت المتطلبات على عاتق الشركة حدود إمكانياتها بسبب الضغوط المالية التي تعاني منها الصناعة نفسها ويرزح تحت وطأتها المستهلكون. في هذا الوقت تبدأ الحلول النباتية للشركة في إظهار القيمة الحقيقية التي يمكن أن تضيفها من منظور صحي ومالي.

أيضًا مع لجوء المستهلكين لتخزين البضائع في الربع الثاني من عام 2020، نما الطلب على المنتجات ذات الصلاحية طويلة الأجل لتحتل الصدارة. بالطبع كانت ولا تزال شركة

فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة تقدم حلول الصلاحية طويلة الأجل لعقود، لكن هذه المرة كان لزامًا عليها أن تتخطى حدودها وتخوض أكثر في منتجات العصائر والمخبوزات والوجبات الخفيفة والألبان.

لمجرد أنها منتجات صحية

يقول دروف مضيفًا: «عمل فيروس كوفيد- 19 ببساطة على تسريع وتيرة الطلب على المنتجات الصحية والمكونات الآمنة، لكن المثير للدهشة أن نرى هذا الارتفاع في النزعة إلى الأغذية الشبه نباتية (حيث يتجه المستهلكون إلى الحد من تناول المنتجات الحيوانية) وما صاحبها من ازدهار كبير في الطلب على البدائل النباتية للحوم في المنطقة. يمكن ان نعزو ذلك إلى ربط المستهلكين الآن بين أمراض مثل أنفلونزا الطيور والخنازير، مرض جنون البقر، وسارس، كوفيد-19 ونشأتها من صناعة اللحوم في بلاد معينة.

ومن الاتجاهات السائدة المثيرة أيضًا، ميل المستهلكين المتزايد نحو شراء المنتجات المحلية بد ًلا من المنتجات

المستوردة، نظرًا لثقة المستهلكين الأكبر في سلاسل الإمداد المحلية أثناء فترة الجائحة.

منتجات صحية بقيمة غذائية أعلى

يقترن مفهوم استحداث المنتجات الصحية بخفض محتوى السكر فيها، هذا الاتجاه لا يدعمه المستهلكون المهتمون بالنواحي الصحية فقط، بل تسانده أيضًا حكومات دول مثل الإمارات والسعودية ومؤخرًا عمان، التي فرضت ضرائب على مختلف المنتجات الغذائية والمشروبات التي تحتوي على كميات من السكر المضاف. وُتعد أمراض القلب والسمنة والسكر من الأمور الملحة في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي (بمعدلات 33% و32% و16% من إجمالي عدد السكان بالترتيب)، من هنا كانت هذه القوانين والتنظيمات التي تعود بالنفع على صحة السكان داخل أراضيها.

تجسدت استجابة شركة فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة لهذا التحول في ابتكار حلول تحتوي على سكر الفواكه الطبيعية، الأكثر نفعًا لصحة الجسم من السكر المعالج لانخفاض مؤشر نسبة السكر له (هذا المؤشر هو رقم يوضح المقدار الذي يرفعه طعام ما من مستوى السكر في الدم). تستعين الشركة أيضًا بالمواد البروتينية والألياف لتعويض الجسم والفم بنفس الإحساس الذي يوفره السكر، الأمر الذي يخفض من مؤشر نسبة السكر الصافي أيضًا ويزيد من قيمته الغذائية.

مع هذا لا ُيعد استبدال السكر ح ًلا بسيطًا، حيث يتطلب وفرة من المكونات المحددة التي يمكنها تعويض المستهلكين الترف الذي يبحثون عنه مع الحرص على عدم تعريض صحتهم للخطر.

جمع دروف خيوط القصة قائ ًلا: «يمثل استكشاف هذه التنظيمات الجديدة المتعلقة بالسكر وتطوير حلول خالية من السكر المضاف في فئات معينة أكبر التحديات التي تواجه شركة فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة لسببين رئيسيين: يعود السبب الأول إلى حقيقة أن ذوق المستهلك العربي والجنوب أسيوي (يمثلان معًا 95% من عدد سكان دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي) يميل بشدة نحو المنتجات حلوة المذاق. في ذات الوقت تتمتع طبقة العاملين في الأعمال الشاقة بالمنطقة بنزعة إلى استهلاك المشروبات السكرية للحصول على الطاقة، ولا يعنيهم كثيرًا محتواها من السكر. السبب الثاني يعود إلى حقيقة أن السكر لا ينحصر استخدامه في إضفاء المذاق الحلو للمنتجات فقط، لكنه أيضًا يضفي عليها الملمس والتركيب واللون والصلاحية الطويلة. يكسب السكر البضائع المخبوزة اللون الأسمر ويساعد في إزالة الماء والرطوبة منها. كما أنه يغلف اللسان بطبقة رقيقة، ويمنح الجسم والفم الإحساس بمذاق العصائر، ويساعد على احتفاظ الأيس كريم بقوام لين.»

لهذا يعتبر خفض معدلات السكر من التحديات متعددة الأوجه، خاصة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمنتجات التي دأب المستهلكون على

تناولها. فالمستهلكون الآن يمكنهم تمييز المواد التي تحتوي على مواد سكرية من خلال الشكل والرائحة والملمس والمذاق. من هنا يلزم أن يكون للمنتجات التي تحتوي على سكريات أقل أو بدائل للسكر نفس الإحساس والملمس والشكل والمذاق والرائحة.

أضاف دروف: «أحيانًا ننصح عملائنا ممن يسعون إلى خفض المحتوى السكري في منتجاتهم بأن يصنعوا نسخة أخرى صحية من المنتج. يفتح ذلك المجال لمزيد من المرونة في تركيب المنتج، وإتاحة الفرصة للإبداع في تطوير منتج يلبي أهداف الحد من نسبة السكر، بدون الحاجة لمطابقة الشكل والمذاق مع المنتج الأصلي الذي يدخل السكر في صناعته.

أيضًا نمد يد العون لعملائنا كي يتمكنوا من تطوير منتجات صحية بمذاق حلو لكنه يتمتع بطعم أكثر إثارة ومدروس بعناية يستثير براعم الحس على نحو أكبر من شعور الشبع الناتج عن السكر.»

جافزا – مسار دائم نحو الإبداع

كانت الملكية الكاملة بنسبة 100%، والبيئة السانحة لتنفيذ الأعمال بكل سهولة، السبب وراء عمل شركة فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة في جافزأ منذ عام 1987. عن هذا يقول دروف: «نظرًا لأنها منطقة حرة نستطيع ممارسة أعمالنا التجارية بدون سداد ضرائب القيمة المضافة والجمارك على المواد المعاد تصديرها، والتي يتم استرجاعها فيما بعد.

Dhruv Dhawan

هذا من شأنه تسريع وتيرة تنفيذ الأعمال وتوفير المنتجات لعملائنا بشكل كبير، ويجعل عملية نقل البضائع من ميناء بحري إلى ميناء جوي (مثل مطار دبي ورلد سنترال) أبسط بكثير. ناهيك عن أن مرافق الميناء نفسها تعمل بكفاءة استثنائية تجعله من أسرع الموانئ في تفريغ الحاويات على مستوى العالم، ما يسمح لنا باستلام ومعالجة وتسليم البضائع إلى العملاء في غضون 24 ساعة فقط.

«تتمتع جافزا بلوائح تنظيمية خاصة بها ولا تتبع باقي القوانين في الدولة، الأمر الذي يمنحنا مزايا عديدة فيما يتعلق بالتزاماتنا التجارية، والقوانين العقارية، والسرعة التي نعالج بها متطلباتنا من العمالة مثل تأشيرات العمل. بالإضافة لذلك، ُتعد جافزا محورًا مرموقًا معترف به دوليًا للتجارة في الشرق الأوسط، حيث تتخذ العديد من الشركات متعددة الجنسيات وشركات الأعمال الإقليمية الضخمة مقرًا لها هناك.»

وبالنسبة لشركة فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة، فقد وفرت جافزا مديرًا للخدمات متفرغ لدعم الشركة في احتياجاتها لتنفيذ الأعمال. والأهم من ذلك كله، حرص جافزا الدائم على امتلاك أحدث التقنيات والإجراءات والمرافق، والتي ترقى جميعها لأعلى المعايير العالمية. إنها الموقع الأمثل لشركة مثل فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة.»

التطلع إلى المستقبل

على مدار السنوات الخمس المقبلة، سوف تحتل الحلول الصحية والأطعمة النباتية الخالية من أي مواد ضارة الصدارة في معدلات النمو، خاصة في أعمال المخبوزات والحلويات والمشروبات والألبان والوجبات الخفيفة واللحوم والنكهات. كما تشغل الصحة موقع العامل الرئيسي لدفع مشتريات المستهلكين، في حين يعتبر خفض التكاليف وتحسين هامش الربح هما المحرك الرئيسي لعملاء التصنيع لشركة فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة.

وبالنسبة للتمدد الجغرافي، تعتزم شركة فود سبيشلتيز المحدودة التوسع في أسواق شمال أفريقيا ونيجيريا، لما تذخر به المنطقة من فرص واعدة نظرًا لأعداد السكان الكبيرة والمتزايدة هناك، إضافة إلى أن سوق الأطعمة والمشروبات هناك لا زال في طور التنمية. وختامًا قال دروف: «يمكننا تقديم تشكيلة واسعة من الحلول المتطورة التي أثبتت نجاحات منقطعة النظير في دول الخليج العربي بعد تجربتها والتأكد منها.»

أخبرنا برأيك?
حزين
0
سعيد
0
غير متأكد
0
مبتهج
0
حقوق النشر 2020 ، ذا زون - مجلة صادرة عن المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي ، دبي