DP World launches Berbera economic zone in Somaliland

Following its investment in the Port of Berbera, DP World is now launching the Berbera Economic Zone to create an integrated maritime, logistics, and industrial platform to serve the Horn of Africa and Ethiopian markets.

The Port of Berbera is the most modern container terminal in the horn of Africa with extensive bulk and breakbulk handling facilities as well as liquid cargo handling capability.

On the other hand, the Berbera Economic Zone, modelled on our flagship Jebel Ali Free Zone in Dubai, aims to offer a similar business environment that our Jafza customers have become accustomed to, whether it is in terms of the regulatory framework, range of facilities, incentives and the one-stop-shop services.

Suhail Albanna, DP World’s CEO & MD of the Middle East & Africa says ”With both the port and the economic zone being operated by DP World, it will be like home away from home for our Jafza customers”.

A new special economic zone law and a new special economic zone companies’ law have been passed by the Somaliland Parliament with a view to offer companies operating in the zone a secure and stable business environment.

The facilities which are available for annual lease, long-term lease of 25 years or sale include offices, prebuilt Light Industrial Units (LIUs) as well as serviced land plots. DP World can also offer built to suit as well as project management services for companies looking to outsource the construction of their facilities.

Moreover, DP World will provide logistics services including clearing, storage and delivery of goods to companies operating in the zone.

The incentives offered to companies include a wide range of fiscal and non-fiscal incentives, including exemption from corporate tax, duty-free storage of goods, exemption from import or export permits, 100% foreign-owned companies and the ability to employ foreign labour.

“With both the port and the economic zone being operated by DP World, it will be like home away from home for our Jafza customers.”

See Also

Suhail Albanna, DP World’s CEO & MD of the Middle East and Africa

DP World has set up and will operate the one-stop shop where services include company formation, licensing, issue of building and Health, Safety & Environment (HSE) permits, as well as facilitating other services such as visa and work permits. Applications for registration and licensing can be made through the Berbera Economic Zone portal or submitted and attested through the Jafza one-stop shop.

This integrated maritime, logistics and industrial platform, the customer centric ecosystem as well as the competitive and conducive business environment,  constitute the key attributes in positioning Berbera as an emerging gateway for the horn of Africa and Ethiopian markets.

To know more about the Berbera Economic Zone, please send an email at bez@dpworld.com and or an enquiry through the portal www.dpworld.com/bez.

What's Your Reaction?
Excited
15
Happy
3
Not Sure
2
Sad
4

© 2020 The Zone - a publication by Jebel Ali Free Zone. All Rights Reserved.

Managed by Conceptualize

Other languages

The Zone Magazine by Jafza tailors your language preference based on a number of factors. The list of languages above uses Google Translates automated translation to display content.

دي بي ورلد تطلق منطقة بربرة الاقتصادية على أرض الصومال

بعد استثمارها في ميناء بربرة، أطلقت دي بي ورلد منطقة بربرة الاقتصادية لتكون المنصة البحرية واللوجستية والصناعية المتكاملة، لخدمة الأسواق في منطقة القرن الإفريقي وإثيوبيا.

ويُعد ميناء بربرة أحدث محطة للحاويات في منطقة القرن الإفريقي، بما يمتلكه من مرافق شاملة ومتنوعة لمناولة البضائع السائبة والعامة، إضافة إلى إمكاناته الواسعة في التعامل مع البضائع والشحنات السائلة.

من جانب آخر، توفر منطقة بربرة الاقتصادية التي تم تصميمها على غرار المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي، المركز التجاري واللوجستي الرائد والتابع لـ «دي بي ورلد»، بيئة أعمال مماثلة لما اعتاد عليه عملاؤنا في جافزا، سواء على صعيد الإطار التنظيمي، أو نوعية المرافق والحوافز والخدمات الشاملة.

وقال سهيل البنا، المدير التنفيذي والمدير العام بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وافريقيا في «دي بي ورلد»: «يمثل تشغيل دي بي ورلد لكل من ميناء بربرة والمنطقة الاقتصادية قيمة مضافة، تتيح لعملائها مقرًا جديدًا خارج جافزا يكون أشبه ببيت ثان لهم في القرن الافريقي.»

وكان برلمان أرض الصومال قد أصدر قانوناً جديداً للمنطقة الاقتصادية الخاصة، والشركات العاملة فيها، بهدف توفير بيئة أعمال آمنة ومستقرة للشركات.

والجدير بالذكر، أن منطقة بربرة الحرة تشمل مرافق عديدة متاحة للإيجار السنوي، أو للإيجار طويل الأجل لمدة 25 عاماً، أو للبيع، منها؛ المكاتب، والوحدات الصناعية الخفيفة، إضافة إلى مساحات الأراضي المزودة بالخدمات. وستقدم «دي بي ورلد» أيضاً خدمات البناء حسب الطلب وإدارة المشاريع الإنشائية للشركات التي تحتاج إلى الاستعانة بموارد إضافية لبناء منشآتها.

كما ستقدم «دي بي ورلد» خدماتها اللوجستية لعملائها من شركات المنطقة الحرة، بما في ذلك خدمات التخليص والتخزين، وتسليم البضائع.

See Also

وتجدر الإشارة إلى المزايا التي ستحصل عليها الشركات، والتي تتمثل بمجموعة واسعة من الحوافز الضريبية وغير الضريبية، مثل الإعفاء من ضريبة الشركات، وتخزين البضائع من دون رسوم جمركية على السلع، والإعفاء من تصاريح الاستيراد أو التصدير، علاوة على السماح بتملك الأجانب للشركات بنسبة 100٪ والقدرة على توظيف العمالة الأجنبية.

وكانت «دي بي ورلد» قد أنشأت مركزاً متكاملاً للتجارة من خلال خدماتها المتعددة؛ ومنها تأسيس الشركات، والترخيص، وإصدار تصاريح البناء والصحة والسلامة والبيئة، إضافة إلى تسهيل الخدمات الأخرى مثل إصدار التأشيرات وتصاريح العمل. ويستطيع العملاء تقديم طلبات التسجيل من خلال بوابة منطقة بربرة الاقتصادية، كما يمكن أيضاً تقديم الطلبات والتصديق عليها من خلال جافزا.

هذه المنصة البحرية ذات القدرات اللوجستية والصناعية المتكاملة، والمنظومة الشاملة التي تركز على العميل أولاً، ضمن بيئة مثالية لممارسة الأعمال وتعزيز التنافسية؛ تحظى بمجموعة من المزايا الرئيسة التي تكرّس مكانة بربرة باعتبارها بوابة تجارية واعدة لأسواق القرن الإفريقي وإثيوبيا.

أخبرنا برأيك?
حزين
0
سعيد
0
غير متأكد
0
مبتهج
1
حقوق النشر 2020 ، ذا زون - مجلة صادرة عن المنطقة الحرة لجبل علي ، دبي